Wednesday, July 28, 2010

School

So, I have been living with my host family for the past couple days and it's been really good. I like them a lot and they are very welcoming. I didn't eat dinner the first two nights because I wasn't hungry...haha. But, last night I had potato soup, rice and chicken. it was really good. For breakfast the past couple days, I have had; fresh fruit that included bananas, strawberries, kiwi, and grapes, yogurt and an orange type thing, and this morning my mom made me pancakes. I don't think they were cooked all the way through, but I ate them anyway. They haven't made me sick yet. *crosses fingers* =\

In our presemester class, we have two sections. The first one, our ''history'' class, is about an hour and 15 minutes long. Then we have a short break and then the second half starts, our spanish class. For this, we are split into four groups based on our level of spanish. Unfortunately, I think I'm in the lowest class. =\ But I feel like the class is helping, I guess.

Yesterday was our first Salsa lesson. *rolls eyes* It was very interesting, to say the least. Our instructor is Cuban and a VERY good salsa dancer. We only learned a few steps yesterday...aproximately 5 different onces. They looked a lot better when he did them though. haha. But we have another class tomorrow, so I'm hoping I wont be too behind, or get too distracted...haha. =]

I'm still really tired, and I try to get as much sleep as possible, but I guess I'll just have to keep sleeping. =] And I'm okay with that.

I'll try and write more when something interesting happens... =]

Adios


World Traveler

Sunday, July 25, 2010

Spanish Overload

Today is the day we met our host families. =]

A very exciting thing!

We began the day with French toast and pinnapple juice and then headed into orientation. We talked about our health and possible problems we could have while we're down here and then we talked a little about family life and what is expected of the host family. We broke for lunch and then came back to the hostel for some more family talk. We talked to a former BCA student (the same one who gave us the tour of the school) about her host family experiences and mishaps. It was nice to be able to pick her brain for a little bit. Then we finally found out who our families were. We didn't meet them yet, but we got a paper explaining who they are and what they are like. We found where they live on our maps and we saw how far away from the school it was. Everyone was giddy with excitement to meet their families, it was infectious.

Around 5 pm we all walked out into the lobby of the hostel and waiting to greet us were 20 hopeful families. =] They were all so excited and probably about as nervous as us. haha. There were balloons, flowers, and smiles all around. One by one, they called out our names and we ran to greet them with a huge hug. Once my name was called, I waited for everyone else to be paired with their families. Once we were finished, Daniel gave a few last minute instructions and tips and then we were free to go. I got my luggage and my host mom and I headed out to the car.

I have a host mom and dad, sister and her boyfreind, and a brother who are both older than me. I have yet to meet my brother, but I have met and hug/kissed everyone else. =] haha.
When we got back to the house, we talked for a while at the table. I wasn't very talkative, because I'm still super tired, but I listened as best I could. =]

It was a bit of a Spanish overload and now my head is pounding. I am already ready to sleep! haha. I don't know if I'm going to survive this semester or if I'll just die by sleeping too much. haha. So, I think I'm going to turn on a movie or something and fall asleep.

Buenos Noches


World Traveler

Saturday, July 24, 2010

Hola

So, today wasn't as intense as yesterday travel wise.

We woke up and went to breakfast (some kind of citris pancakes and orange juice) and then headed directly into more orientation stuff. We recovered safetly things and then talked about our schedule for the rest of the semester and when and where we're going on trips.

We broke for lunch and had about two hours to do whatever, but Nikki and I were too tired to do anything. So, instead of eat, we decided to sleep. =] I don't regret it either. I was sooo tired. After our little siesta, we took a tour of Quito with a family from here. We ended up at the top of a mountain where the statue of the virgen of Ecuador is. We walked around up there for a while and then we drove down to the historical center of Quito. It had lots of shopping and restaurants and many, many churches. We saw a few weddings...one a little less conservative than the other. (i.e. the bride was pretty much wearing what looked like chinese lingerie) Interesting. After walking around and hearing a little more history we broke off to go find something for dinner. Nikki and I still weren't hungry so we just didn't eat again....


...totally kidding. =] We split a plate of arroz con pollo (chicken and rice). It was delicious and very filling. =] After eating, we met up with another group of people who ate across the street and we walked around the shopping area. It was neet to see all the different shops and food venders. I didn't end up buying anything there, but it was still fun. We got a taxi back to the hostel and we crammed four of us in the back seat and had one in the front. Needless to say it was a little uncomfortable. =]

Now i'm sitting in our room anticipating tomorrow. We find out who our host families are and we get to go home with them tomorrow night. =] I feel like we have been here for way more than two days and it feels more like a vacation than like a semester abroad. I'm sure after we are all moved in tomorrow night it'll feel a little more real.

Buenos Noches



World Traveler

Friday, July 23, 2010

Day One

Things I learned today:

-Four hours of sleep is NEVER enough
-Don't confuse the jam for ketchup and accidenly put it on your eggs
-Walk is Stop
-I am a Gringa =\
-Both the bus and the trolley are just 25 cents per ride
-People get bird poop thrown on them so they are distracted so someone can mug them
-Lin Manuel Miranda (look him up. he's a genious) has a bald twin
-Hoggwarts is not the only school with moving pictures
-I have a restaurant named after me in Ecuador
-Cheese and sugar are not a bad combo
-Cab drivers are very stubborn
-I am EXHAUSTED

well, that last one I didn't really learn...but I am sooo flipping tired.
Today was a big day. We traveled a lot and didn't get much sleep because of our delayed flight.

First off, this morning we had breakfast (eggs, bread and butter and orange juice), and then we all went into a conference room type place and we talked about safety. It was supposed to scare us into being overly cautious...and lets just say they did their job well. They told us horror stories that happed to past BCA students and some other stories that happened to american tourists in the past couple weeks. It was a very informative talk, to say the least. =]

Then we walked to the mall, which is right down the street and we got some lunch. Nikki and I were so tired that we just got a piece of pizza from a Sabarro and came back to the Hostel and fell asleep for a little bit. After that, we went to the universidad to take a tour. We stopped to get some local ice cream on the way. (mine was called Taxo, which is like a passion fruit that grows up in the mountains, I think. It was good. We got a tour of the campus by a few students and one who was a BCA student last year and is just finnishing up her internship for this summer. The campus is soo huge I don't know how I'm going to memorize everything. But, even so, I'm excited. We finished up the day at a restaurant for dinner. I had emanadas con queso, chicken and potatoes and then ''torta a la moda'' for dessert. It was a very filling meal.

To get back to the hostel, we had to hail our own taxi and barter with them for a price to get home. Eventually we just settled and paid $2 for three of us because we were so tired. But, apparenly tomorrow we will get plenty of more practice with taxis....joy. =]

As for now, I NEED to get some sleep. My head is pounding and my eyes are falling closed as I write this.
Buenos Noches


World Traveler

Quito, Ecuador

So, I haven't seen much of it yet, but the city lights look really pretty from the sky! =] They're kinda like starts.....but below you...well they're pretty.

But we just got to the hostel where we will be staying for about three days. Our flight was delayed a few hours in Miami because the 1st officer was late or something. Needless to say I was a little bitter about the situation. I was ready to get here. But, now we're here and settled into our separate rooms. They are surprisingly very nice! I mean, I expected a room full of bunk beds, but we are in separate rooms with four being the most people in one room. My room has three people including me. Nikki and I got put together and we're with another girl named Heather...it think. haha It's going to take me a while to get everyone's names down.

Tomorrow we start orientation. I'm not positive what we're doing exaclty, but breakfast is at 9. Considering that, I should probably get to sleep. I will update again when I am more coherent. =]

Buenos Noches

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Oh no...

I already feel stressed out...
This is not a good sign.

I lost a few items that I KNOW I had earlier today. And now my luggage is stressing me out.
Are my bags the right size? Do they weigh too much? What can I live without for 5 months? What is absolutely essential? How the HECK am I going to do this!?

I just need to be over there with all of my luggage so I can stop worrying.
Worry.
Why worry?
Because it's what I do best.
I wait til the last minute to do things and then I freak.
Perfect.

These last few hours until I reach the air port are going to be hectic.

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Packing Packing Packing

¡Hola!

So, it is officially two days before Nikki and I leave for Ecuador, and I have yet to start packing. =\ uh oh.
but I think it's for the best considering now I'll only pack the essentials and I wont have all my stuff packed up too early. This way I can still use stuff that I want to take with me. Perfect. This was my plan all along. =]

I want this to be a way for everyone to see what's going on in Ecuador without me having to write the same things over and over again in emails, on facebook or whatever. It'll be easier for me, I think. But, don't judge me if I don't write every day. I AM going to have classes to go to and homework to do...so that'll be my excuse if I don't blog about everything. ok? =]

I guess I should start packing then. =\ I have to start sometime, right?

¡Hasta Luego!
See you later!

World Traveler